Local Government Elections

Ordinary local government elections are held every two years on the third Saturday in October. The next state-wide ordinary elections are scheduled for Saturday 16 October 2021.

The 2021 election for the Shire of Jerramungup will be conducted as a postal election with a Returning Officer appointed by the WA Electoral Commission. Three positions will be contested at this election. Current Councillors whose terms will end on 16 October 2021 are:

  • Councillor Joanne Iffla (Deputy Shire President)
  • Councillor Bill Bailey
  • Councillor Julie Leenhouwers

If you have considered nominating for election to council but weren't sure if it’s for you, now is the time to find out!

Any individual who is considering nominating for election must complete a online induction course on the Department of Local Government, Sport and Recreation website prior to nominating. The induction aims to provide a basic understanding of the functions and responsibilities of a council member and also includes information on the laws that govern the way an individual must conduct their election campaign.

Nominations for the October elections open on 2 September and close at 4:00pm on 9 September 2021.